Octavian Adrian Postolache

Dr. Postolache is author and co-author of 10 patents, 6 books, 18 book chapters and more than 300 papers published in international journals and indexed proceedings with peer review. He is IEEE IMS SM, Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE IMS with more than 25 DL actions, chair of IEEE IMS TC-13 awarded by his activity in 2016, and elected chair of IEEE IMS Portugal Chapter.

Pedro Silva Girão

Dr. Girão is a Senior Member of the IEEE, Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE IMS, Honorary Chairman of the International Measurement Confederation (IMEKO) TC19—Environmental Measurements, and Vice-President of the Portuguese Metrology Society.

José Miguel Dias Pereira

Dr. Pereira is a Senior Research Member of Instituto de Telecomunicações and his main research interests are included in the Instrumentation and Measurements fields.

Helena Geirinha Ramos

Dr. Helena Ramos is the Vice-president of IST Scientific Board and as the most significant management positions that she has already exercised one can refer Member of IST Board of Directors, Vice-President of the Electrical and Computer Department, Director of IT. She acts regularly as an expert evaluator for the European Commission and other international funding agencies.

Fernando Janeiro

Dr. Fernando Janeiro is currently the Director of the Master in Mechatronics Engineering. He is also a member of the instrumentation and measurement research line with Instituto de Telecomunicações, Lisbon, where he has been since 1997.

Joaquim Gabriel Mendes

Dr. Joaquim Mendes is researcher of the FCT Unit – UISPA – Integration Unit Systems and Process Automation, external researcher of Cardiovascular Unit – FMUP, and LABIOMEP UPorto Biomechanics Lab, integrated in INEGI – Institute of Science and Innovation in Engineering Integrated Mechanical and Industrial Engineering.

Ana Maria de Almeida

Ana Maria de Almeida has a strong background in Mathematics – Computer Science, Algorithmics and Operational Research, specializing in modeling and optimization. Over the last years, she has participated in international working groups linked to the issues of transport modeling and mobility, specializing in smart urban and logistics environments.

Carlos J. Costa

Dr. Carlos Costa is an Associate Professor of Information Systems and Operation Management at ISEG (School of Economics and Management), Universidade de Lisboa. He is chair of EuroSIGDOC/ACM chapter and faculty sponsor of ISCTE-IUL ACM Student Chapter.

Vitor Viegas

Dr. Vitor Viegas works as assistant professor at the Instituto Politécnico de Setúbal (IPS), and as researcher at the Instituto de Telecomunicações (IT).

Maria Arcelina Marques

Dr. Arcelina Marques has been involved in several R&D projects and has been a member of the Physics Department Management Board, being responsible for the laboratory facilities, from 2008-2012 and also presently. She is author and co-author of more than 45 conference and journal papers, 1 national patent and 1 book chapter, covering areas of Physics-Optoelectronics, Biomechanics, Engineering Education and Remote Experimentation.

Sancho Oliveira

Dr. Sancho Oliveira is an Assistant professor at University Institute of Lisbon (ISCTE-IUL), Portugal, founder of BioMachines Lab, member at Institute of Telecommunications, and member of VFabLab ISCTE-IUL.

Luís Rocha

L.A. Rocha is currently the Deputy Head of the Micro and Nanofabrication Department and Associated Researcher in the Microfabrication and Exploratory Nanotechnology Group at the International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory (INL).

Pedro M. Ramos

Paulo Nunes

Sérgio Matos

Artur Lopes Ribeiro

Anders Christensen

Main Students:

Mariana Catela Jacob Rodrigues

Mariana Catela Jacob Rodrigues received her BSc and Msc in Telecommunications and Computer Engineering from University Institute of Lisbon, ISCTE-IUL, in 2017 and 2019, respectively. She is now a PhD student in Information Science and Technology at ISCTE-IUL and her research focuses on creating ambient assisted living environments and adaptive environments with the implementation of wireless sensor networks.

Gonçalo Tomé Ribeiro

Gonçalo Tomé Ribeiro received his BSc and MSc degrees in Telecommunications and Computer Engineering from ISCTE - Instituto Universitário de Lisboa, in 2019 and 2022, respectively. He is currently a PhD student in Information Sciences and Technology at ISCTE - Instituto Universitário de Lisboa. His research focuses on intelligent systems for health status monitoring, giving great focus to the influence of stress.

João Monge

João Monge is a Doctorate in course, by the University Institute of Lisbon, ISCTE-IUL, since 2018. His research focuses on healthcare, embedded systems and smart interfaces applied to diabetes.

António Raimundo

António Raimundo received the B.Sc. degree in computer science and the M.Sc. degree in computer science from the ISCTE-Lisbon University Institute, Lisbon, Portugal, in 2014 and 2016, respectively, where he is currently pursuing the Ph.D. degree in information science and technology. Since 2016, he has been a Junior Researcher with the Instituto de Telecomunicações, ISCTE-IUL branch, Lisbon. His research interest includes the development of applications for Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), using machine learning techniques.

Válber César Cavalcanti Roza

Válber César is a Doctorate in course, by the University Institute of Lisbon, ISCTE-IUL, since 2016. His researches focuses on analysis of biosignals, automatic emotions pattern classification, robotics, artificial intelligence and programming.